Risk and Compliance Accreditation | The bar

Our Risk and Compliance Accreditation is a mark of quality allowing individuals to demonstrate that they have expertise in risk and compliance, legal practice or anti-money laundering.

It covers risk and compliance in the legal sector at three levels:

This accreditation requires, at each of its levels, that an individual demonstrates the risk and compliance knowledge, skills and competencies as set out in the program.

Accreditation holders have demonstrated technical competence in risk and compliance.

By holding accreditation, you are able to convey to stakeholders and potential customers that you have:

  • demonstrated your knowledge and skills
  • obtained an objective mark of quality at a particular level of competence in these areas

This makes it part of the practice toolbox to differentiate offers from other companies.


Anyone can apply for and obtain accreditation, provided they pass the exam corresponding to the level and pass the aptitude and propriety checks.

There is no requirement for the applicant to be employed or qualified as a lawyer.


The Foundation level will interest:

  • practice managers
  • compliance officers
  • risk managers
  • managers
  • department heads/team leaders

This level addresses the basic risk and compliance skills and knowledge required in a business/practice role in a legal firm.

Advanced Risk and Compliance Accreditation (Legal Practice)The advanced level (legal practice) is intended for experts in risk management. It will be interesting to:

  • risk directors
  • consultants
  • Compliance Officers for Legal Practice (COLP)
  • sole practitioners
  • compliance officers for finance and administration (COFA)

This level addresses a wide range of key risk areas in a legal practice and how they are mitigated and managed.

It emphasizes a holistic, ethical and strategic approach to risk management of legal practice.

Advanced (anti-money laundering)

Advanced Risk and Compliance (AML) AccreditationThe Advanced level (Anti-Money Laundering) is intended for experts in the fight against money laundering. It will be interesting to:

  • money laundering reporting agents (MLRO)
  • Money Laundering Compliance Officers (MLCOs)
  • consultants
  • sole practitioners
  • COFA

This level addresses the main areas of risk in anti-money laundering in a legal practice and how these are mitigated and managed.

You can find all the content details of each level in the program.

How to register

To apply for accreditation, you will need to:

  • meet the eligibility requirements
  • submit a detailed application form
  • pass the appropriate exam

The accreditation process takes approximately six to eight weeks. It may take longer if we receive a large number of applications or if you do not provide us with all the information we need.

Find out how to apply


Accreditation has three levels:

  • Foundation
  • Advanced (legal practice)
  • Advanced (anti-money laundering)

Membership at each level lasts for three years.

You can apply for re-accreditation up to three months before your accreditation expires.

You can only reaccredit at your current level.

To re-accredit at another level, you must apply for initial accreditation at that level and pass the appropriate exam.


The cost of accreditation is made up of a registration fee and a membership fee.

We will send you an invoice when we have received your application.

Application Registration fees Contribution
Initial application £131 +VAT £235 +VAT
Re-accreditation £131 +VAT £235 +VAT

Other expenses Cost
Late application (re-accreditation only) £106 +VAT
Certificate reissue £11 +VAT
appeal £335 +VAT

contact us

Call: 020 7320 5797

Email: [email protected]

Opening hours: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday to Friday